The following are the most often asked questions regarding a marriage license or courthouse wedding:
What do I need to do to get a marriage license?
To obtain a marriage license both parties need to come in person to
the Clerk's office, bring their Valid Photo Identification, provide their social
security numbers (Or Valid Passport) and pay the marriage license fee.
In addition, if either party has previously been married, they must supply the date
and reason that marriage ended. Each person applying for a marriage license must also read
the "Family Law Handbook". This is required by law.
For additional information on how to bring my fianc'e(e) to the United States - http://uscis.gov/graphics/howdoi/fiance.htm
How much does it cost to get a license?
The total cost for a license (including county and state fees) is $93.50. However, couples who
have attended an approved premarital preparation class pay only $61.00. The provider has to be on a provider list pursuant to Florida Statute 741.0305(5).
Do I have to pay the fee in cash?
Payment in full by cash or credit card is required.
Do both parties have to be present at the Clerk's office to apply for a license?
Do we have to have a blood test to apply for a license?
No. Blood tests for marriages in Florida are not required.
How long does it take to get a license?
Licenses are issued immediately. The process normally takes no more than 30 minutes. However,
unless the couple has attended an approved premarital preparation class there is a three day waiting
period before the license is effective and the marriage can take place.
There is no waiting period for out of state residents.
What are the age restrictions for obtaining a marriage license?
To obtain a license without parental consent, both the male and female must be at least 18 years
of age (the 18-year minimum age does not apply to individuals who have been married previously, nor
to applicants who are parents or expectant parents).
Can an individual who is younger than 16 get a marriage license from the Clerk's Office with
Such an individual may apply for a license
at the Clerk's office. However, with or without parental permission, a marriage license to anyone under age 16 can only be
issued upon approval of a county judge.
Is the signature of just one parent sufficient to qualify as parental permission for a minor
No. The permission of one parent is sufficient ONLY if that parent has sole legal custody of the
minor or if the other parent is deceased.
How long is the marriage license valid?
Florida marriage licenses are valid for 60 days from their date of issue. They must be returned
to the Clerk's Office for recording within 10 days after the marriage is performed.
How long does it usually take to get a certified copy of our marriage record?
Certified copies are normally received within 10 days after the completed marriage certificate
is returned to the Clerk's office for recording in the county's official records.
How much does it cost for a certified copy of a marriage certificate?
One certified copy is provided as part of the marriage license fee. There is no additional cost.
Extra certified copies may be obtained for a fee of $2.50 each.
Do one or both of the marriage license applicants have to be American citizens?
No. There is no citizenship requirement.
Do we have to make an advance appointment for a license?
No. Licenses are issued without appointments during normal business hours, 8:15 a.m. to 5 p.m.,
Monday through Friday.
Can the Clerk's Office perform the marriage for us?
Yes. The Clerk of the Circuit
Court can perform a civil marriage ceremony. There is a charge of $30 for that service. Call 374-3636 to make an advance appointment.
You should bring two witnesses with you to the ceremony if possible. Rings are at the
option of the parties.
My husband and I want to renew our vows. Do we need to get a license for this?
How do we go about renewing our marriage vows?
Talk to your clergyman, chaplain, or other religious adviser or personal counselor.
Do I have to have my divorce papers (or spouse's death certificate) in order to apply for a
You must be sure the divorce is final and you will need
to know the date the judgement was signed. The application does require you to say when and how your
last marriage ended (divorce, annulment, or death).
Do I have to bring a driver's license or other form of official identification with me to
obtain a marriage license?
Yes, proper photo identification such as a driver's licence, Florida I.D. card, or passport is
Can I legally marry my nephew?
No. Although the marriage license application does not specifically ask about possible
relationship of the parties, Florida law prohibits close blood relations from legally marrying.
These include such relationships as:
Can homosexuals obtain licenses to marry partners of their own gender?
No. Florida law specifies that one applicant must be male and the other female.
Where is the Clerk's Office located?
Marriage Licenses are issued at the Alachua County Family / Civil Justice Center located at 201 East University Avenue, Gainesville, Florida.
Can I marry outside the State of Florida with a Florida marriage license?
No. You can only use a Florida Marriage License in the State of Florida.
Can an ordained minister, active or retired judicial officer, circuit court clerk or notaries public from another state perform a marriage in Florida?
Per Florida Statute 741.07, all regularly ordained ministers of the gospel or elders in communion with some church, or other ordained clergy, whether in this state or not, are authorized to perform marriages. However, active or retired judicial officers, circuit court clerks or notaries public from other states are not authorized to do so in Florida.